Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Blast from the Poetry Past: 2006

The Children’s Poet Laureate was established by the Poetry Foundation in 2006 to raise awareness of the fact that “children have a natural receptivity to poetry and are its most appreciative audience, especially when poems are written specifically for them.”
The first Children’s Poet Laureate was Jack Prelutsky, chosen in 2006. 

Mary Ann Hoberman was selected as the second Children’s Poet Laureate in 2008. 

J. Patrick Lewis
was selected as Children’s Poet Laureate in 2011 and also received the National Council of Teachers of English Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children that same year. 

The next Children’s Poet Laureate will be announced in the next few weeks. Stay tuned!

Wishing everyone happy El día de los niños/El día de los libros (Children’s Day/Book Day) celebrated every April 30. Buy a book of poetry for someone you love today!

Posting by Sylvia M. Vardell © 2013. All rights reserved.

Image credits: nwbookfest;poetryfoundation;forum.teachingbooks.net

1 comment:

laurasalas said...

I have a guess about who I think will be named--and two people in mind I think would be excellent choices. Can't wait to find out if I'm right or not:>)